Two City Council positions in Altheimer, both of which featured multiple candidates, will have to be settled with runoffs before the 2018 election season officially ends.

In Ward 1, Position 1, Tina Burton collected 108 votes to lead the balloting but finds herself in a runoff with Joycette Strong, who received 86 votes. Of the remaining two candidates, Blanchie Laws got 52 votes, and Jesse L. Culclager garnered 42.

For the Ward 2, Position 1 post, Sheron Burton will face off against Samuel L. Kelley for the job. Burton received 160 votes while Kelley got 117. Kim Love finished third with 81 votes.

The runoffs will take place on December 4, 2018.  Early voting begins November 26, 2018.

Since no candidate received more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff is necessary.

Also at Altheimer, Mayor Zola Hudson came out on top, defeating challengers Corey Alexander and Donald Bruce Robinson, while Essie Robertson claimed the Ward 2, Position 2 council spot.

At Wabbaseka, current Mayor Myra T. Edwards was beaten by Linzie Anderson on Tuesday. Anderson picked up 67 votes to 40 for Edwards. Voters in that city also approved a 1-cent local sales tax hike 58 to 44. The money will be used for city infrastructure improvements.

Redfield Mayor Harmon Carter also was defeated, losing 265 to 213 to Roben K. Brooks in complete but unofficial results. Allison Beasley downed Diann Smith 296 to 181 for the Ward 3, Position 1 City Council position; a 1-cent local sales and use tax was approved 277 to 218 for Redfield.

The money will be used for infrastructure improvements and to add to the city’s reserve coffer.

Humphrey Mayor Cleveland Hatch and White Hall Mayor Noel Foster faced no opposition in their reelection bids.

In the only contested Jefferson County race, Democrat Alfred Carroll Sr. was an easy winner over Libertarian James Michael Hoods for District 1 of the Quorum Court. Carroll received 1,225 votes; Hood got 132.

In contests for the Arkansas State House of Representatives District 17, Incumbent Vivian Flowers (Democrat) had no trouble downing Libertarian Gregory Maxwell. Flowers, of Pine Bluff, received 4,592 votes to 585 for Maxwell.

District 15 Incumbent Ken Bragg of Sheridan collected 2,053 votes to earn another term. His opponent, Libertarian Wayne Williams, received 476 votes.