JONESBORO, Ark. (7/23/20) – A 2019 Honorable Mention All-Sun Belt Conference football selection, Arkansas State junior offensive lineman Andre Harris Jr. was one of 114 FBS players across the nation named Thursday to the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach.  The Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.

The Red Wolves have now placed a player on the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List each of the last six seasons as Harris Jr. joins Tajhea Chambers (2019), Justice Hansen (2018), Justin Clifton (2018), Blaise Taylor (2016-17) and Fredi Knighten (2015).  Taylor was named a finalist for the award in 2017.

Harris, who has started 24 of 26 career games at A-State, is on course to graduate in the fall of 2021 with a bachelor’s degree in business administration.  He has appeared on all but one A-State Athletics Director’s Honor Roll every semester since arriving on campus, while also earning a spot on both the 2018 spring and fall Dean’s Lists.

The Oklahoma City native serves on A-State’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and is also a member of the Diversity and Equity Committee sponsored by the Sun Belt Conference.  Harris Jr. has been an active member in the football team’s community service projects, ranging from appearances at local schools to participating in national initiatives such as the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.

Enjoying highly successful 2018 and 2019 seasons, Harris Jr. has been named 2020 Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference by multiple publications, including Phil Steele’s and Athlon Sports.

Harris Jr. helped lead the way for over 300 yards total offense by A-State in all but one game and over 400 yards in 10 outings during 2019, including a season-high 558 yards against Troy.  With Harris Jr. and the offensive line providing protection, the Red Wolves’ passing yards per game (312.1) was the second highest average in the Sun Belt and ranked 10th in the nation.

Despite ranking ninth in the Sun Belt in time of possession, A-State ranked fourth in the league in scoring offense and fifth in total offense behind Harris Jr. and the offensive line.  He helped secure the time needed for the Red Wolves’ quarterbacks to throw 37 touchdown passes that were the most in the conference and tied for eighth in the country.  Harris Jr. also helped paved the way for running back Marcel Murray to be named All-Sun Belt Conference.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.  Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935.