UAPB Softball Samaria Jackson Tabbed To All-SWAC First-Team


Pine Bluff, AR. – Samaria Jackson from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff softball team was named to the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) 2022 All-Conference First-Team as voted by the SWAC Softball Coaches Association and the Sports Information Director Association.

Jackson, a junior from Pine Bluff, is tabbed as one of the best hitters in the SWAC conference.  Jackson ranks second in the conference in home runs with nine, 4th in the conference in on-base slugging percentage (1.129), 7th in the conference in batting average (.367), 10th in the conference with 40 hits, and 16th in the conference with 21 RBIs.  On the defensive side, Jackson’s gloves speak for itself.  Jackson ranks 6th in the SWAC Conference with a fielding percentage of 0.989, with only three errors in over 40 games.  Jackson tallied four hits, five runs, six RBIs, and three home runs earlier this year during UAPB’s three-game series versus Prairie View A&M. She contributed a home run in all three games against the Lady Panthers.

The complete listing of all-conference selections and individual awards winners can be found below.

2022 All-SWAC Softball Team and Individual Awards

Player of the Year
Kindall Deramus, Alabama State

Hitter of the Year
Biviana Figueroa, Prairie View A&M

Pitcher of the Year
Hannah Ortega, Bethune-Cookman

Newcomer of the Year
Biviana Figueroa, Prairie View A&M

Freshman of the Year
Hannah Ortega, Bethune-Cookman

Coach of the Year
Laura Watten, Bethune-Cookman

First Team
C – Biviana Figueroa, Prairie View A&M
1B – Samaria Jackson, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
2B – Lauryn Gross, Alabama A&M
SS – Destiny Cuevas, Florida A&M
3B – Jaylyn Davis, Prairie View A&M
OF – Kindall Deramus, Alabama State
OF – Tevanae Tate, Texas Southern
OF – Allyson Riches, Alabama A&M
P –  Hannah Ortega, Bethune=Cookman
P –  Jazmine Gendorf, Texas Southern
P –  Halyne Gonzales, Bethune-Cookman
DP – Tamera McKnight, Texas Southern

Second Team
C – Destinee Dixon, Alabama State
1B – Mila Rodriguez, Texas Southern
2B – India Wells, Grambling State
SS – Briana Alston, Mississippi Valley State
3B – Tyesha Cole, Alcorn State
OF – Lauren Stewart, Jackson State
OF – Jazmine Dodd, Alabama State
OF – Jaylon Davis, Mississippi Valley State
P – Chris’Deona Beasley, Florida A&M
P – Bailey Greenlee, Alabama State
P – Daisy Page, Mississippi Valley State
DP – Carson Shelby, Mississippi Valley State