UAPB Football: Evans, Britten and Sanchez Lands On SWAC All Conference Teams


PINE BLUFF, AR.- The Southwestern Athletics Football Conference announced its postseason awards on Tuesday, and the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff landed three student-athletes on the All-Conference team.

UAPB offensive lineman Mark Evans II was named to his fourth First Team All-SWAC while running back Kayvon Britten was named to his first All- Conference Second Team, and punter Josh Sanchez picked up second All-SWAC honors as he landed on the Second Team.

Mark Evans II 521 snaps: 93% overall grade, with only two sacks the entire season. The 6-foot-4, 295-Evans, who’s been compared to former UAPB tackle Terron Armstead (Miami Dolphins), started in 9 out of 11 games this season at the left tackle position for the Golden Lions. Evan, a leader on the line, played a significant role in UAPB running back (Britten) rank (17th FCS /2nd SWAC), averaging 5.0 yards per carry (5th FCS/1st SWAC) in rushing touchdowns with 16. Evans, who got the attention of several NFL scouts and is known for his fundamentals, toughness, athletic ability, and footwork, was recently invited to participate in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl. Evans was also named to the Reeses Senior Bowl Watch List, Walton Payton Award Watch List, Stats Perform FCS All-America Third Team, BoxToRow Preseason HBCU All-America First Team, and East-West Shrine Bowl 1,000 list. He’s also a four-time First Team (SWAC) All-Conference, three-time HBCU Boxtorow All-America, Boxtorow All-America Honoree, HBCU Classic All-American, and Rated top-10 HBCU player by Pro Football Network.

Kayvon Britten, an excellent blocking back, is one of the most electrifying runners in FCS football. Britten has a total of 1,095 yards, ranking him (17th FCS /2nd SWAC), averaging 5.0 yards per carry. Britten ranks (5th FCS/1st SWAC) in rushing touchdowns with 16. Britten ranks 16th (FCS/1st SWAC) in scoring with 96.0 points. He was named FedEx FCS National Player of the Week in week two and SWAC Offensive Player of the Week in week seven. Britten had two games where he rushed for over 250 yards and had a season-high 277 yards and four touchdowns earlier this season against Alabama A&M.

Josh Sanchez who’s labeled one of the top FCS punters in the nation and named the 2022 SWAC Preseason First-Team All-Conference. Sanchez ranks second in the conference, averaging punt net at (22nd FCS/ 2nd SWAC) at 41.5 yards per punt. Sanchez pinned 18 punts inside the 20 and 11 punts booted over 50 yards and three punts 60 yards or more. Sanchez had a season-long (68 yards) against Oklahoma St.

2022 SWAC Football Postseason Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State

Defensive Player of the Year
Aubrey Miller Jr., Jackson State

Newcomer of the Year
Jarveon Howard, Alcorn State

Freshman of the Year
Kevin Coleman Jr., Jackson State

Coach of the Year
Deion Sanders, Jackson State

All-SWAC First Team Offense
Quarterback: Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State
Running Back: Jarveon Howard, Alcorn State
Running Back: Sy’Veon Wilkerson, Jackson State
Offensive Lineman: Mark Evans II, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Offensive Lineman: Drake Centers, Texas Southern
Offensive Lineman: Tyler Brown, Jackson State
Offensive Lineman: Dallas Black, Southern
Offensive Lineman: Jalen Goss, Florida A&M
Wide Receiver: Xavier Smith, Florida A&M
Wide Receiver: Dallas Daniels, Jackson State
Tight End: Kemari Averett, Bethune-Cookman

All-SWAC First Team Defense
Defensive Lineman: Isaiah Land, Florida A&M
Defensive Lineman: Malachi Bailey, Alcorn State
Defensive Lineman: Kamari Stephens, Florida A&M
Defensive Lineman: Nyles Gaddy, Jackson State
Linebacker: Aubrey Miller, Jr., Jackson State
Linebacker: Ronnie Thomas, Mississippi Valley State
Linebacker: Colton Adams, Alabama State
Defensive Back: Isaiah Hamilton, Texas Southern
Defensive Back: Corione Harris, Southern
Defensive Back: Omari Hill-Robinson, Bethune-Cookman
Defensive Back: Cam’Ron Silmon-Craig, Jackson State

All-SWAC First Team Specialist
Place Kicker: Jose Romo-Martinez, Florida A&M
Punter: Chris Faddoul, Florida A&M
Return Specialist: Darnell Deas, Bethune-Cookman
Long Snapper: Jason Longcor, Alcorn State

All-SWAC Second Team Offense
Quarterback: Jeremy Moussa, Florida A&M
Running Back: Kayvon Britten, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Running Back: Donovan Eaglin, Alabama A&M
Offensive Lineman: Jeremiah Stafford, Southern
Offensive Lineman: Jonathan Williams, Alabama A&M
Offensive Lineman: Will Ready, Alcorn State
Offensive Lineman: Cameron Covin, Florida A&M
Offensive Lineman: T.J. Yarbrough, Alcorn State
Wide Receiver: Shane Hooks, Jackson State
Wide Receiver: Jah’Marae Sheread, Florida A&M
Tight End: D.J. Stevens, Jackson State

All-SWAC Second Team Defense
Defensive Lineman: Sundiata Anderson, Grambling State
Defensive Lineman: Tahj Brown, Southern
Defensive Lineman: Justin Ragin, Jackson State
Defensive Lineman: Zareon Hayes, Alabama A&M
Linebacker: Claudin Cherelus, Alcorn State
Linebacker: Lewis Matthews, Grambling State
Linebacker: Isaiah Major, Florida A&M
Defensive Back: Javan Morgan, Florida A&M
Defensive Back: Isaiah Bolden, Jackson State
Defensive Back: Irshaad Davis, Alabama State
Defensive Back: BJ Bohler, Florida A&M

All-SWAC Second Team Specialist
Place Kicker: Alejandro Mata, Jackson State
Punter: Josh Sanchez, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Return Specialist: Chaunzavia Lewis, Texas Southern
Long Snapper: Braxston Blackwell, Southern