Six Razorbacks Honored By SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- Six members of the Arkansas swimming and diving team, five student-athletes and one coach, have earned post-season SEC honors, as announced by the league office Wednesday.

The seven total honors are the second-most in program history, just one behind last year’s eight. The number of Razorbacks honored is the most in program history, one more than last year’s five. This is also the first time in program history that more than two student-athletes were named to an All-SEC Team.

“We are so excited to have five of our ladies named to an All-SEC Team,” head coach Neil Harper said. “For three of them, it was their first year in the SEC so it’s a good sign for the growth, improvement, and future of our program!”

Sophomore Brooke Schultz led the team in honors for the second consecutive year, being named the SEC Female Diver of the Year and earning a spot on the All-SEC First Team. Last season, the Fayetteville, Ark., native was named SEC Female Diver of the Year and SEC Female Freshman Diver of the Year while also being named to the SEC All-First Team and SEC All-Freshman Team.

Schultz currently holds three springboard records at Arkansas, setting three of the program’s all-time highest scores on the 1-meter and four of the program’s all-time highest scores on the 3-meter this season. She also finished in the top-five in both springboard events at the NCAA Championships on her way to two All-American honors.

Head diving coach Dale Schultz earned SEC Women’s Diving Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive year, the third time in his three stints at Arkansas that Schultz has earned the honor (1993 and 2018).

Four swimmers round out the SEC honors, with Anna Hopkin, Kobie Melton, Molly Moore, and Marlena Pigliacampi being named to the SEC All-Second Team. Hopkin currently holds seven individual program and pool records and recorded 13 of the fastest times in program history in four events. The Preston, England, native earned top-five finishes in the 50 and 100 yard freestyles at the NCAA Championships, being named an All-American in both events.

Hopkin, Melton, Moore, and Pigliacampi set the program record in the 400 yard freestyle relay at the SEC Championships in March, finishing 24th at the NCAA Championships in the fourth-fastest time in program history.

“For Brooke to earn SEC Female Diver of the Year is only fitting after winning both the 1- and 3-meter at the SEC Championships and being the 3-meter runner-up at the NCAA Championships,” Harper continued. “With her success, it is good to see Dale earning Female Diving Coach of the Year honors too. I am especially excited for Anna, Kobie, Molly, and Marlena to also make an All-SEC team based on their relay and individual accomplishments this year!”