By Ray King

As the filing period for independent candidates drew to a close Wednesday, a second race for a seat on the Pine Bluff City Council developed.

Yvonne M. Denton has filed for Ward 2, Position 1, and will face Steven Shaner in the November General Election. Shaner, the candidate of the Democratic Party, earned his spot on the ballot with a run-off win over Lloyd Franklin Jr. No Republican filed for the office.

Former Council Member Bill Brumett filed as a candidate for Ward 3, Position 1 last week. Brumett, who formerly served on the council before losing in a three-way race in 2018 to current council member Ivan Whitfield, will oppose another former member of the council, Glen Brown Sr., who won the Democratic Party nomination with a victory over Donald Hatchett in the party primary.

Ward 1 Council Member Lloyd Holcomb Jr. and Ward 4 Council Member Bruce Lockett drew no opposition.

The six current members of the White Hall City Council are also running for another term and are unopposed. They are Andrew Lunsford, District 1, Position 1, Kenneth B. Smith, District 1, Position 2, Gregory Scott Ray, District 2, Position 1, Franklin Johnson, District 2, Position 2, David Beck, District 3, Position 1 and Joel Foster, District 3, Position 2.

At Altheimer, Doris Hudson-Gaddy filed for the position of recorder/treasurer. There will be two contested races for the city council as Jewel Vanderbilt, Shelly Hertzog and James Gardner are seeking the District 1, Position 2 position. There are two candidates for District 2, Position 2 as Essie Robertson and Crystal Gridley oppose each other. Tina Burton is currently unopposed for the District 1, Position 1 council seat and Sheron Burton is unopposed for the District 2, Position 1 seat. Former Justice of the Peace Edward Spears has also submitted an affidavit for a council seat and that filing is pending.

At Sheriff, Jody Campbell is running for Mayor and Rebecca Holland and Joy Binns are seeking the Position 5 council seat. Melody J. Darrough is running for Position 1 on the Wabbaseka City Council and Veatrice McHenry for Position 2 on the City Council.