Pine Bluff native Torii Hunter is on the 2022 BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot after falling short of the vote his first year on the ballot in 2021. Hunter remained eligible for the ballot after receiving 9.5% of the vote in the 2021 class. 5% of the vote is required in order to remain eligible.

Hunter entered the 2021 balloting with the best chance to remain in consideration due to his nine Gold Glove Awards as a center fielder, five All-Star selections, two Silver Slugger Awards and 2,452 career hits. Andruw Jones’ struggles to garner votes at the start of his eligibility were likely an indication that Hunter would face an uphill battle to stay on the ballot, but Hunter’s 9.5 percent of the vote share represented a higher percentage than Jones’ 7.3 percent when he debuted in 2018. (Jones received 33.9 percent of this year’s vote.)

“It is definitely an honor [to be included],” Hunter said on MLB Network. “You talk about a young kid from Pine Bluff, Arkansas, who just wanted to go to college and play and get my education, but as I got drafted and went on, it was more about saving my family and living out my dream. I never played the game to be in the Hall of Fame.

“When I retired, everybody started telling me these numbers and everything, and that’s when you’re like, ‘OK, it’d be cool to be in the Hall of Fame,"” Hunter added. “But as you’re playing, you never think about those things. I went about it every day and I rested my case in 2015. It is what it is.”

2022 Hall of Fame ballot holdovers

Curt Schilling 71.1 10th
Barry Bonds 61.8 10th
Roger Clemens 61.6 10th
Scott Rolen 52.9 5th
Omar Vizquel 49.1 5th
Billy Wagner 46.4 7th
Todd Helton 44.9 4th
Gary Sheffield 40.6 8th
Andruw Jones 33.9 5th
Jeff Kent 32.4 9th
Manny Ramirez 28.2 6th
Sammy Sosa 17.0 10th
Andy Pettitte 13.7 4th
Mark Buehrle 11.0 2nd
Torii Hunter 9.5 2nd
Bobby Abreu 8.7 3rd
Tim Hudson 5.2 2nd


2022 Hall of Fame ballot first-timers

  • Carl Crawford
  • Prince Fielder
  • Ryan Howard
  • Tim Lincecum
  • Justin Morneau
  • Joe Nathan
  • David Ortiz
  • Jonathan Papelbon
  • Jake Peavy
  • J. Pierzynski
  • Jimmy Rollins
  • Alex Rodriguez
  • Mark Teixeira

The BBWAA class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony in Cooperstown, New York on July 24, 2022. This class will be joined by any inductees from the Early Era and/or Golden Era committees.