SWAC Cross Country Championships – Monday, October 22, 2018, Choctaw Trails, Clinton – Jackson, Miss

CLINTON, Miss. – The University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff Golden Lions cross country team placed four runners in the top 20 to bring home the 2018 Southwestern Athletic Conference Men’s Cross Country title, their first since 1993.

The Golden Lions tallied 62 points, besting Prairie View A&M. The Panthers finished second for consecutive seasons, scoring 76 points. Grambling State finished third with 78 points. Wade Garner led the way, finishing fourth with a time of 26:20.3. Laurel Heath took 10th overall with a time of 26:50.44.

Rounding out the standings were Southern (98), Jackson State (102), Texas Southern (120), Alabama State (157), Mississippi Valley (195) and Alcorn State (220)

Vincent Langat bested the field with a time of 25:11.32 to earn the 2018 SWAC Men’s Cross Country Athlete of the Year award for the second year in a row. Texas Southern’s Hilary Maiyo was close behind, claiming second (25:20.91), and Levante Williams finished third (25:28.57).

UAPB coach Chris McCoy was named SWAC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

The full All-SWAC list of athletes is below:

First-Team All-SWAC Men’s Cross Country
Vincent Langat (Jackson State; SWAC Men’s XC Runner of the Year)
Hilary Maiyo (Texas Southern)
Levante Williams (Prairie View A&M)
Wade Garner (UAPB)
Henry Kiplagat (Jackson State)

Second-Team All-SWAC Men’s Cross Country
Jorge Martinez (Texas Southern)
Worthington Moore (Prairie View A&M)
Matthew Kibet (Alabama State)
Hassan Chepkwony (Grambling)
Laural Heath (UAPB)


Habtom G. Keleta, M.A.