Def Leppard, Radiohead, and The Cure lead this year’s class of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees. All were honored during a five-hour ceremony in Brooklyn’s Barclays Centre on Friday, March 29th. Stevie Nicks, Janet Jackson, Roxy Music and The Zombies are also among the seven singers and bands recognized this year for having contributed “over 25 years of musical excellence”.

Nicks, who was previously inducted into the hall of fame along with the rest of Fleetwood Mac, became the first woman to receive the distinction twice. Janet Jackson issued a challenge just before leaving the stage, instructing: “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, in 2020, induct more women.” 

Amid Def Leppard’s induction, Rick Allen was moved to tears by the audience’s standing ovation when singer Joe Elliott recalled the drummer’s perseverance following a 1985 accident that cost him an arm. 

David Byrne inducted Radiohead, noting he was flattered the band named itself after one of his songs.

The Cure’s Smith stood onstage for induction Friday with 11 past and current members. Visibly nervous, Smith called his induction a “very nice surprise” and said “it’s been a fantastic thing, it really has,” he said. “We love you, too.” 

Roxy Music performed a five-song set that included hits “Love is the Drug,” “More Than This” and “Avalon.” 

The Zombies performed hits “Time of the Season,” “Tell Her No” and “She’s Not There.”

Friday’s Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame event was being filmed to air April 27 on HBO.

Janet Jackson, Stevie Nicks, Def Leppard inducted into Rock Hall of Fame


Editorial credit: Allen.G /