Ceremony to be held to honor the 1973 Vaster High School State Championship basketball team

A ceremony is scheduled to be held to honor the 1973 Vaster High School Class B State Championship Team and overall State Runners-Up on Wednesday. February 1 at the Pine Bluff Country Club.

David Beck, who is helping to host the event, spoke with Deltaplex News to discuss why the event is being held, and why it is important to honor the team.

The event is an invite only event, but Beck said they will host Sidney Moncrief as the keynote speaker.

Herbert Pryor was the head coach of the 1973 Vaster High School championship team, and he spoke about what he remembers most about them.

Pryor said he is humbled that this team is finally being recognized after all of these years.

One other thing that this group would like to accomplish is getting records of the yearly annual’s from Vaster Schools put into the records of the Pine Bluff/Jefferson County Library.

Ricky Williams is leading the charge for that project, and spoke with Deltaplex News to give more information on what he is looking for.

He also provided information on how citizens can get the annuals to the library so they can be digitized.

Members of the 1973 Vaster High State Championship team include:

Cleveland Allen

Eric Biley

Samuel Biley, Jr.

Reddick Borkins

Jimmy Dade

Carl Evans

James Evans

Tommy Evans

Roy Franklin

Jimmy Gladney

Homer Jackson

Melvin Jackson

Charles Petty

Rodney Rice

Thomas Tarty

Herbert Pryor – Head Coach

Andrew Carr – Assistant Coach

Ronnie Grice – Manager

Rodney Crawford – Trainer

Jacob Jones – Trainer