Bans against outdoor burning spread to 11 counties in South Arkansas on Monday.          There was an outbreak of thunderstorms, mostly in Southeast Arkansas, early Monday night but rainfall was not expected to be sufficient to reverse recent dry conditions.

The Arkansas Forestry Commission reports Howard, Hempstead, Miller, Ouachita, Dallas, Nevada, Pike, Lafayette, Columbia, Drew and Ashley counties are currently under a burn ban. No burning of any brush piles or household trash items is allowed in these locations until further notice.

The issuance of burn bans and wildfire danger risk increase is a result of a prolonged period of dry conditions and little rainfall expected in the week ahead. Additional burn bans may be issued this week.