Bruce Springsteen has just released his legendary 1978 performance at the Roxy. The four hour set is newly mixed and remastered, and was officially made available through his ongoing archival live series the day before its 40th anniversary on Saturday, July 7.  Seven songs from the show were previously released on Springsteen’s Live 1975-1985 collection. Highlights include the live debuts of “Point Blank” and “Independence Day” on piano, covers of Buddy Holly’s “Rave On” and Elvis Presley’s “Heartbreak Hotel,” and the complete version of “Backstreets” containing the “Sad Eyes” interlude. You can see the full tracklist and purchase a copy on Live Bruce Springsteen.

Bruce Springsteen Releases Oft-Bootlegged 1978 Roxy Concert


Editorial credit: Jack Fordyce /