NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Arkansas is among 21 states where a measles outbreak is being monitored by the Centers for Disease Control.

From January 1 to July 14, 2018, 107 people from the affected states were reported to have measles.

Along with Arkansas, other states being monitored at this time include California, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas and Washington.

Measles is an infectious viral disease that can cause fever and a red rash on the skin. It typically occurs in childhood and can be prevented with a vaccine.

Measles outbreak facts from the CDC:

The majority of people who got measles were unvaccinated.

Measles is still common in many parts of the world including some countries in Europe, Asia, the Pacific, and Africa.

Travelers with measles continue to bring the disease into the U.S.

Measles can spread when it reaches a community in the U.S. where groups of people are unvaccinated.