Three men from Southeast Arkansas have been appointed to the Arkansas State Plant Board by Governor Asa Hutchinson.

According to the McGehee-Dermott Times News, Mark Mills of McGehee, Richard Watts of Watson and Reynold Meyer of Eudora were appointed to fill vacancies on the board whose membership was increased from 17 to 19 by the Arkansas General Assembly. Eight of the board members are nominated by agricultural associations and appointed by the Governor and nine others are named strictly by the Governor.

The newspaper reported that Mills is actively and production of soybeans, Watts represents forestry and was nominated by the Arkansas Forestry Association and Meyer is actively engaged in the production of livestock.

The Arkansas Senate must approve the nominations which will all expire Oct. 1, 2023.